Torture

This has been requested of me for awhile as I have a lot of knowledge and personal experience but I've been a lazy shit and never bothered to write this. This won't be comprehensive as there's a lot of trivia in the subject of torture to talk about and I just want to explain what I think is more important to know, at least to kick off the thread.

Why

Ok so to begin with I will say that torture is carried out for a lot of reasons and most forms of torture are just sadism that doesn't have a high success rate in accomplishing anything other than breaking a person for the entertainment of whoever is carrying it out. Torture is not very effective for extracting most kinds of information from anyone who has any real determination to resist giving out said information. If information is what you want it's actually better to give them the VIP treatment and get them to give up information to you because they like you or to just ask or to spy on them or to get them to slip up or to entrance them. Lots of ways to extract information out of people without torturing them. Torture is pretty much acknowledged as really only good for demoralization, psychological warfare, and fulfilling one's sadism. Not much else.

Methods