I'm a bit late to the whole thing but I've just finished System Shock for the first time...

I'm a bit late to the whole thing but I've just finished System Shock for the first time. It's one of the few series I never got to play and since I was bored I figured it was the perfect time.
Lately I was stuck in a kind of torpor playing recent games with its share of shit so I tried to snap out of it. I replayed through Max Payne and got my hands on System Shock.

I absolutely loved it, it had its shortcomings mainly the UI but the game is more than 20 years old so it was almost to be expected considering all it tries to do. I could barely do anything when I started playing but slowly I got used to the controls and I started putting together the pieces of what I was supposed to do. It's one of the things that I really loved actually, even if the later goals are roughly spelled out to you via mails, the procedure for blowing up the laser could only be found in the audio logs a scientist left here and there. I guess System Shock was one of the first games that featured audio logs and even if I find that trend of putting audio logs in every game to be complete shit I didn't mind that much in SS because most of them always had some sort of useful info on the level which was very useful considering how big they are.
I knew almost nothing about the game going in and I was very pleasently surprised, big levels that you need to learn to navigate, exploration rewarded with soft upgrades/new weapons… It's pretty refreshing playing a game and not feeling like the devs assume you're a drooling retard. From mid game the bodycount starts rising pretty quickly, especially after I got my hands on the Rapier and bots started dropping pistol/smg ammo consistently. That coupled with respawn chambers made the game pretty easy, I did play the Enhanced Edition though so maybe the game was designed with the fact that you'd be having a hard time moving around in mind ?