I haven't touched my Playstation 2 in a few months and I decided I wanted to give it a go but I found out I had a big...

I haven't touched my Playstation 2 in a few months and I decided I wanted to give it a go but I found out I had a big problem.

My controller's X button is unresponsive, but the 'Analog" button instead performs its functions.

Wat do Holla Forums? Anyway to fix?

Buy a new controller

I just bought this controller 2 or 3 months ago. I dont want to buy another.

they aren't too hard to open and repair if you can identify the problem, but finding a replacement online is pretty cheap

Any ideas on to why the button would be remapped onto another. I think that is just kinda wierd

WTFFFFFFFFFFFF

Heres a pick of it disassembled. Any insight would help

i would figure make sure that the X button is making a proper connection to its sensor, and that the analog button isn't touching it or connected to it somehow

i'm not an expert by any means but i've done this with a few controllers before when buttons got loose or stuck easily

sometimes the shell does weird shit to the circuitboard, if it gets out of position that is.
Be absolutely sure the contacts pads are on secure. Oh, and don't tip the front half of the shell upside down.

fix it then

Which way does this piece go back in?

top tier taste, user.
It sounds like a faulty board to me, which wouldn't make sense in your situation especially if the controller worked two months earlier.
Give it a good cleaning, and try 's suggestion.

Nvm

Well theres your problem, the controller is in pieces.

Well i broke it because i couldnt get this thing into fucking place

guess you're buying a new one, m8

Hey dummy, you have a shot of where those wires go, strip a bit off the wire ends and solder them back on. All your buttons do is take a rubber bit with a contact on the bottom and smush it between two contacts to complete a circuit.