Yo devfags

Yo devfags

Are publishers stupid or just out of touch. Asking since they keep chasing an unreliable audience and trying to make the next big thing rather than catering to the solid demographic that exists. Like I'm no expert in business, but this shit is business 101.

Other urls found in this thread:

gamerant.com/destiny-sales-numbers-210/
en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Principal–agent_problem
twitter.com/AnonBabble

Ideology makes you do stupid shit, just look at suicide bombers, same fucking thing.

I don't necessarily think its ideology rather than stupidity

Welcome to capitalism my friend
Where the decision making is not in the hand of the dev but in hand of some fucking publisher that never touched a game in his whole life

Where no one strive for quality but for marketability

Is there a difference?

Ignoring the whole feminism fiasto and focusing on the issue at hand:

See this is the part where they are wrong as they market the game to casuals and then they alienate their fanbase. Then nobody buys the game because casuals only play fifa and call of duty.

Because it has been known to actually work. Destiny was completely mediocre, but made incredible sales due to the immense marketing campaign.

As someone who is not a developer, I think you've got a few things publishers can be, but it is never as cut and dry as this (boss having different goal to workers, etc).

You have group A. Group A can net you 20K a release at best. You have to work hard, as they are well informed and news of you not making something good will drive them away. It is a big risk, but keep releasing good titles and you'll always get around 15K.