How do I earn money from an online game without making it "cheap"?

I'm working on a competitive arena shooter with complex magical combat (spells will have to be cast via a combination of inputs, none of the spells are hardcoded)

I do not expect the game to sell at a high pricetag, since I'm a single dev, not a huge corporation that can buy Steam hotspots and amazing journalist reviews.

I was considering adding glove skins, which would be thematic and fitting into the art design of the game (aka no danger colors like CS:GO guns), but the second I discussed the idea with my girlfriend, she chewed me the fuck out and said that she expects higher standards from me than microtransactions.

While I do not think that cosmetics can be put on the same level, I do value her input.

Therefore we end up here. How do I make dosh from a game that I'll likely sink thousands more hours into developing without "cheapening" it?

So pretty much a FPS of Magika?

Yeah, the inspiration was definitely Magicka. I'm aiming at a more "eldritch", and low-poly visual style, somewhat like the original Quake, only slightly more graphically advanced to appeal to the normalfags as well.

Nigger, dont change your vision to bring in a wider audience. Make the game you want, and if it gets popular and you make alot of money then good. Dont sacrifice your image for money user.

I'm not, semi-low poly was a part of the original idea, sort of like revamped Quake. Bringing in a wider audience was but a validating afterthought.

Make a patreon if you don't mind being called a jew.
But since you're considering microtransactions, you're probably far past that point.

If your game is good, retards will happily throw money at you to continue "working" on your game.

Cosmetic microtransactions don't affect gameplay, though. I'll happily change my point of view if you can tell me why paid cosmetics are bad.